About GMCA

The Greater Manchester Combined Authority (GMCA) is made up of the ten Greater Manchester councils and the Mayor of Greater Manchester, who work with other local services, businesses, communities and other partners to improve the city-region.

The ten councils (Bolton, Bury, Manchester, Oldham, Rochdale, Salford, Stockport, Tameside, Trafford and Wigan) have worked together voluntarily for many years on issues that affect everyone in the region, like transport, regeneration, and attracting investment.

The GMCA gives local people more control over issues that affect their area. It means the region speaks with one voice and can make a strong case for resources and investment.

Contribution to GM Moving

The Greater Manchester Combined Authority (GMCA) has a range of statutory responsibilities, and runs some key services, which can support people to move more. These include:

  • Skills and employment support services
  • A GM Ageing Hub
  • Responsibility (with Transport for Greater Manchester) for core elements of the public transport system
  • Investment funds which support new housing and employment developments

We also support the ten councils of Greater Manchester to collaborate around common goals, such as:

  • Joint planning (via the Places for Everyone Spatial Plan)
  • Public service reform
  • Active travel (e.g. through the Mayors Challenge Fund)

Find out more about GMCA here